Tiny Hiney

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time for rehab
4:58 a.m. - Friday, Feb. 21, 2003

Ok, this is getting absolutely ridiculous and really needs to stop. I have been spending hour upon hour upon hour reading blogs, journals and diaries every day and every night for at least six months now. I think it's safe to say I'm addicted and someone needs to do an intervention and fast. Lately, this is about all I do. There are so many other things that I could and should be doing -- looking for a job, walking the dogs, showering -- and I'm not doing any of it. Instead, I sit at my keyboard, start with my favorite sites and read all their latest entries. By the way, that list on the right is nothing compared to the one I really use. Then I'll check out somebody's links page, and click on one. If I like what I see, I'll go read their archives. And seven hours later, I am still sitting here, mumbling "just one more entry."

This is February 21st but I have yet to send out any cards to my friends who had birthdays in January. Or December or November or October. I've neglected to ask for updates on two friends who have gone though surgery. Did I ever get that cd player that I got for Christmas installed in my car? Why, no, I did not. I don't think I ever finished sending out my Christmas cards now that I think about it. Kim sent me some of her leftover Hello Kitty Valentines. Did I send them out? No, I was too busy reading her diary to address any envelopes. Last weekend I kept waiting for news about the meeting between Sarah and Jason. I'm still not caught up on their archives but I guess they have been having this blog relationship for awhile now and finally decided to meet up in person for Valentine's Day. Judging by their post-weekend entries, a good time was had by all.

I'm caught up in the tale of the stray Pomeranian who needs to get to a vet, what InvisibleDon is wearing and eating when he posts, how Ladeeleroy is doing after the losing her brother, and if he is going to write any more about his father's memory loss.

I keep wanting to get all crafty and make a Sock Dog but I am so busy checking Not Martha to see who else made a Sock Dog this week that I haven't had time to make one myself. I'm not planning a wedding yet I still follow along with Sara and her plans. I was so excited the other day to see Sara's Bridezilla e-card was mentioned on Dave Barry's blog, I screamed "I know her!" even though I don't. I have never read a book by Dave Barry and it has been ages since I've read him in the newspaper but every night I go to see the latest links on his blog. I read Rupaul's blog every night too. Yes. Ru Paul. You know it's only a matter of time until I pop on over to see what Wil Wheaton is up to. (I'm sure other celebrities have blogs but Wil Wheaton's is the one I always see mentioned.)

I didn't even watch "Joe Millionaire" (I'd rather kill myself) but I sure read what everybody had to say about the final episode on their websites. But who needs reality TV when you've got Bobby Burgess moving clear across the country to be with a girl he first "met" through his Perceptions diary last year.

I do turn off the computer at least once a day to go watch The Abrams Report on MSNBC but then I go back to see what fellow Dan Fans, Leslie, Dewayne, Guava, Kelly and Bluey are saying on their sites. I can't even read Bluey's text because of the funky color yet I keep going back anyway. (She has changed to a new color since I wrote this.)

To feed my Laci Peterson obsession, I go to PopCultureJunkMail because Gail links to message boards about the case.

I love anything that makes me laugh. Not only do Tower of Hubris, Davezilla and Jodi at Because I Say So! crack me up but their comments sections are hilarious too, although I was sad to see Jodi's go.

I'm not even going to embarrass myself and mention the sites where I have some weird online crush on the owners (authors?).

Then there's the countless hours I've spent on my own diary. I'm semi-happy with how it looks yet I am still searching for a better template. I look at the Weather Pixie on an hourly basis to see how cold it is at the Los Angeles airport. Do normal people read their old entries, correct the typos, change stuff around and make sure every link still works or am I the exception? Should I be worried a member of the Korean Army showed up in my stats?
It's not that I want to stop reading all of them but I'd like to...I don't know...get a life? I'd like to read a book, go see a movie, weed my garden, get dressed once in a while, leave the house and socially interact with another human being before I turn into that weird old lady down the street who has too many cats, except in my case, its too many links to too many online journals. I promise I'll do that just as soon as I get caught up with Neal Pollack. Oh, and Kevin too. And, how can I forget Cup of Chicha?

0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last - Next

Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Random Entry
Profile
Rings
Email Me

Other Places You'll Find Me:
Pip Stitch
Give a Dog a Home
MySpace

Links
Guavalog
Rate My Puppy
Kelly King Photo

Thank You to:
DiaryLand

Happy food graphics from:




Find an animal to adopt here!



The WeatherPixie