Tiny Hiney

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Favorite Bands (are not here)
10:40 a.m. - Saturday, Jan. 11, 2003

I read somewhere that the average age of the typical Diaryland user is 15. So, that means when the Replacements broke up, the average user was probably still in diapers. FYI: "still in diapers" to me means under three. Once the kid turns three, you get them in underwear. And I don't mean pull ups because pull-ups blow. Pull-ups suck. Pull-ups are a pain in the ass. Oh sure, they're easy to get off. You just rip the sides and voila! they're off just like a diaper. But, unlike a diaper, putting on a clean one means you have to first remove the kid's pants/shorts and shoes. That makes me hate pull-ups. And I say all of this based on experience. I was a professional potty trainer (aka a preschool teacher who worked in the two yr olds room)for four years and all but two of the kids that passed through our class were not completely potty trained by the time they were three. See, when they turned three, they had to leave the twos classroom and move up to preschool. And they couldn't go to preschool unless they were potty trained. I'm sure there are experts out there who would say that's rushing them. Just as there are people who say breast feeding is ok up until age 3 or 5 or 7 or whatever, which, to me, is wrong. Maybe I feel this way because once they start walking, I don't consider them babies anymore. I was taught to encourage and allow kids to do as much for themselves as possible, and this includes feeding themselves. I'm sorry but pushing up Mommy's shirt and grabbing her breast is not my idea of feeding yourself. Hey, as a former Montessorian, I believe children should be using real knives to cut their food at age 3. (Ok, not really but I did see that in a video once.) I do feel they should do as much as they can for themselves though. And this includes the whole toilet thing.

I was going to list my favorite bands -- I like making lists, ok? -- but obviously got a little sidetracked.

0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last - Next

Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Random Entry
Profile
Rings
Email Me

Other Places You'll Find Me:
Pip Stitch
Give a Dog a Home
MySpace

Links
Guavalog
Rate My Puppy
Kelly King Photo

Thank You to:
DiaryLand

Happy food graphics from:




Find an animal to adopt here!



The WeatherPixie